Review: The Illusionist’s Apprentice by Kristy Cambron

What really happened on Horace Stapleton’s stage? Was it a performance gone wrong? Or was something malicious going on behind the scenes on that fateful New Year’s Eve morning?

The Illusionist’s Apprentice by Kristy Cambron
Thomas Nelson, 2017

From the start, the vivid descriptions brought the setting to life and injected this novel with a mysterious atmosphere. I felt like I had stepped into another day and age and was immersed in this 1920’s vaudeville world.

Early in the story, Wren and Elliot attend an upscale party to investigate the death that resulted from Horace Stapleton’s performance. This is where the story took off for me. Between the tension in this scene and all the witty quipping between the main characters, I was hooked.

Wren’s life is a carefully crafted illusion, and letting other people in is rare and considered a liability. That’s why I loved Elliot: he didn’t want to change her; he just wanted to be her safe place.

Hiding may be her normal, but that doesn’t mean it ever gets easy.

illusionistkcambron

So while all you see at first glance is this mysterious illusionist who lives in a secretive world, you find out that there is so much more to Wren than meets the eye. Her character development was phenomenal. She is confident and independent, but also has this soft, vulnerable side.

Kristy’s books have an ethereal quality about them. They are the ones that quietly take up residence in your heart. I slowly found myself more and more attached to this story, and I can’t wait to see what she has coming next.

*I was provided a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. I am on this author’s launch team. All opinions expressed are my own.*

Comments Make Me Smile

