Review: Where Two Hearts Meet by Liz Johnson

Where Two Hearts Meet by Liz Johnson
Prince Edward Island Dreams, Book 2
Revell, 2016

“There was only one thing better than the smell of freshly baked cinnamon rolls in the morning. The taste of freshly baked cinnamon rolls in the morning.”

And with that scrumptious opening line, I was hooked on this novel.

The setting is so unique in this series. Prince Edward Island conjures up memories of watching the Anne of Green Gables movies, so I have an instant connection with this place and a smile on my lips when I open the pages of this book. PEI is a character all on its own and I was quickly transported into the story.

All the food and pastries in this novel made me hungry all the time! I wanted the treats Caden made so badly that I could almost taste them. I even made a batch of brownies to curb my sweet tooth while reading this book.

Speaking of the food, the kitchen scenes are where my favorite parts of the story happen. Caden and Adam meet every morning over coffee and cinnamon buns, where their initially flimsy relationship begins to deepen and develop as they share their stories little by little.

My favorite part of this novel was Caden. If ever there was a fictional character I would get along with, this girl would be her.  I could identify so much with her character, from her love of food (I love to bake sweets), to her Broadway music always blaring in the kitchen, down to her insecurities about belonging and being wanted. I found her character both insecure and brave, which sounds contradicting, but really, aren’t we all made up of insecurities and bravery? How many of us struggle with one aspect of our lives and yet in others, we feel confident? Caden knows what she’s doing in the kitchen, but other areas of life are more difficult for her to face, which makes her feel like a real person.

All in all, I enjoyed this book so very much, and I am now anticipating the third book of the series. I am very curious where the next book will take us and what PEI and the Red Door Inn has in store for readers.

*I received a copy of this book from the publisher. All thoughts and opinions expressed in this review are my own.*

2 thoughts on “Review: Where Two Hearts Meet by Liz Johnson

  1. “…but really, aren’t we all made up of insecurities and bravery?”

    True! Where we’re unusually insecure in one aspect of life, we’re fearless/brave/confident/(fill in the blank) in another part. Glad you enjoyed this one, Cassie! I have it on my shelf waiting for me to make the return trip to this beautiful island and its people. 🙂

    Like

    1. I think you are going to enjoy this one, Rissi! I love when authors write complex characters that really resonate with real-life. It’s not an easy thing to do, I’m sure!

      Like

Comments Make Me Smile

