Review: A Lady Unrivaled by Roseanna M White

A Lady Unrivaled is the third and final installment in the Ladies of the Manor series, written by Roseanna M. White. I have enjoyed this series, and had intended to link my reviews of the previous books here for you, but I was surprised to find I never wrote reviews of them! So, first I will share a tidbit of my thoughts on the first books in the series.

In The Lost Heiress, we meet Brook and her best friend, Justin. She goes through a rough journey, from thinking she was one person, and discovering she had a family she was unaware of. I adored her fiery spirit and the passion she had for her family and friends. [5 stars]

The Reluctant Duchess has the prettiest cover in the bunch. This one follows Rowena and Brice, who are trapped into a shotgun wedding thanks to a scheming father. Brice was a great leading man, but the middle portion of this novel had me frustrated when these two just wouldn’t communicate! But, again, Brice was perfect. [3.5 stars]

A Lady Unrivaled by Roseanna M. White
Ladies of the Manor, Book 3
Bethany House, 2016

I really enjoyed this book. Ella and Cayton take us on the final leg of this journey of the Fire Eyes and the trouble they have caused in the lives of everyone involved with them.

About the Fire Eyes and the curse surrounding them: This series follows the lives of the people who are in possession of the Fire Eyes and those who want to be in possession of them, no matter the cost. And I don’t think it was a curse per se. To me, it was more a look at greed and power, and how those things can overtake your life and cause pain and grief. Greed will never be satisfied, and destruction is left in its path. This plays out in the series, and I appreciated how this aspect of the series was resolved.

Back to this book in particular, Ella’s bright and happy personality were in juxtaposition to the gloomy and guarded exterior Cayton projected when he was around her. But I always enjoyed their interactions and how Ella brought a light into Cayton’s life. And I liked how Cayton loved his daughter and how much his life was about being a good father to her. And how he painted. LOVED THAT. I like when characters have a creative outlet, it just makes them more interesting.

In closing, I really appreciated the Author’s Note at the end of the book and wanted to share a few of her words here. To quote Roseanna, “I hope and pray that you, too, will see that whatever path you’re on in life, God means it to enrich your heart and soul. And that no matter how many mistakes we make, in our actions or our judgment, we can always trust His voice to lead us…so long as we know how to hear Him.”

One thought on “Review: A Lady Unrivaled by Roseanna M White

Comments Make Me Smile

