7 Unforgettable Marriage Proposals

book-marriage-proposals

I must begin today’s post with a nod to Rissi from Finding Wonderland and her recent post on 14 Memorable and Swoon Worthy Proposals in Period Drama [check it out!].

Her post about period drama proposals inspired me with this idea to share some of my personal favorites. Proposals are some of my favorite scenes in a good novel. The progression of a couple’s relationship culminates in what should be a beautiful proposal scene. After which, their lives continue in eventual wedded bliss and their happily ever afters (obviously and hopefully).

Just so you know, research for this post consisted of rereading my favorite scenes from some of my favorite books. That’s my kind of research.

Without further ado, here are the most memorable proposals I’ve read during my blogging years.

*Spoilers are ahead, so consider yourself warned!!*

Top 7 Book Proposal Superlatives

1. Most Thoughtful Proposal: Once Upon A Prince By Rachel Hauck

“I wanted to get engaged under this tree. Soft white lights swinging from the branches. Maybe a string quartet playing over there. Something special, romantic.”

At the beginning of Once Upon A Prince, Susanna tells a stranger her dreams of a perfect proposal under the Lover’s Oak after the future she has imagined has disappeared. Little did she know that the stranger would change her life forever. And he would propose exactly the way she always imagined it.

2. Most Heart-Wrenching Proposal: In Perfect Time by Sarah Sundin

“”Don’t offer you what? Love, marriage, a home? I am. I’m offering you all of that.”

After so much back and forth with Roger and Kay, Roger finally comes to his senses and realizes he loves Kay. And Kay doesn’t believe it and tries to run. What ensues is SO GOOD and it HURTS MY HEART but I painfully read all the way through because I needed to know if they would finally make it. They are one of my favorite couples and I was so happy at the end of this scene.

3. Most Premature Proposal: Together at the Table by Hillary Manton Lodge

“Thank you, everyone, for coming and helping me celebrate this amazing woman.”

So there are two love interests in Together at the Table (although we all know who Juliette was meant to be with), and because of this I will stay somewhat vague about which guy this proposal involves.

He proposes in front of a gathering of friends and family, and that alone would make me uncomfortable. I wouldn’t want to be on display like that, and imagine the pressure to say yes when you’re surrounded by all those people. Don’t want to do anything disappointing or embarrassing, right? As much as I like this character, he just wasn’t right for Juliette, and I felt so bad for him. (Maybe he’ll get his own story someday? Fingers crossed.)

4. Most Spontaneous Proposal: Together at the Table by Hillary Manton Lodge

“I’ve always wanted to get married on a weekday.”

Might as well put both proposals from this book back to back! This one is adorable and I just love everything about is. Juliette finally reunites with the love of her life and they are just the best. They decide they don’t want to part ways again, and then he proposes. Just like that. And she says yes. When you know, you know, right?

5. Most Persistent Proposal: A Beauty So Rare by Tamera Alexander

“I told myself the next time I saw you, whenever, wherever that was, I was going to tell you.”

The word persistent almost feels like it has a negative connotation to it, but I definitely mean this in a positive way. Marcus has this unwavering love for Eleanor and understands her fears. The first time he asked, I personally would have said yes, but Eleanor refused. He proposed a total of four times before getting his bride, and that my friends, is a steadfast man who knew what he wanted and was willing to go the distance.

6. Most Cringe-Worthy Proposal: Dear Mr. Knightley by Katherine Reay

“I thought up a million reasons to stay away, but I love you.”

This proposal scene is probably the most painful to read. These characters are ones I really, really love, and I would even say this is my favorite book. And this scene is so sad because of all the misunderstandings and secrets that have yet to be revealed. This scene crushes their relationship and it is burned into my brain as one of the most memorable proposals I’ve read to date. Add in the infamous words of Elizabeth Bennet, and this is a scene that will be seared into your memory forever.

7. Most Unprepared Proposal: A Sparrow in Terezin by Kristy Cambron

“I’ve never come close to asking a woman to marry me before. I don’t know how to do it.”

I know how Liam bumbles over his proposal. He doesn’t know what to say but you can tell he has so many emotions bubbling up. This moment happens right before Liam and Kaja part ways, the unknown stretching before them. It is a desperate moment, but they have loved each other for a long time, which makes this scene beautiful and poignant.

And that’s a wrap! I’d love to hear about some of your favorites below!

What are your favorite proposals?

6 thoughts on “7 Unforgettable Marriage Proposals

  1. Cassie, this post is amazing! Love everything about it. You’ve made me wish I could go back and re-read Roger and Kay’s story as well as “Dear Mr. Knightley.” ALL THE FEELS and swoons!? Impossible to properly (aka coherently) put into words for me. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANK YOU! I have to say, this post was the most fun to dream up and write and put together. Everything about this was so much fun for me, so I’m so happy to hear you like it.

      I read just these proposal scenes for this post, but believe me, it put me in the mood to reread many of them, too! And I totally understand your lack of words to express how amazing these books/scenes are! 🙂 🙂

      Like

Comments Make Me Smile

