13 Bookish Quirks About Me

All readers have certain quirks of their own, don’t they? I like to think I’m not alone in all of these, but even if I am, these are some fun facts about my reading habits.

1. I resist reading my favorite authors’ books when they are newly released because I know I will have to wait another year before the next one. I’d rather wait a few months and then read the new book, because then I feel like I have less time to wait for the next book. But I obviously buy it right away.

2. I love the moment while reading when you find the book title in the story. It always makes me secretly smile to myself for having found it. I also always double check the cover to make sure it matches the title exactly.

3. I will use just about anything as a bookmark: scrap of paper, receipt, clothing tag, napkin. And all my actual bookmarks are in a box that I occasionally pull out to admire.

4. I can spend over an hour in a bookstore and leave empty-handed.

5. My bookshelves are organized first according to publisher, then alphabetically by author last name, and then in the order of publication date. Apparently, I like to be complicatedimg_18436. I like to clean out my shelves pretty regularly. I don’t like to keep the books I don’t like. I’d rather have a few shelves loaded with books I love than a room full of mediocre ones. The ones I don’t like get passed along to friends, in the hopes that they will enjoy what I did not.

7. I don’t like hardback books. Just no.

8. I love when books make me respond outwardly. I’m typically a quiet, keep-to-myself reader, so when a book can pull a laugh, a goofy smile, or tears out of me, that is a special book.

9. Sometimes, if I’m unsure if I’ll like a book, I will check it out of the library to avoid the commitment of buying it. If I end up loving it, I’ll buy my own copy.

10. Personal interactions with authors (via email) always make me love their books even more. Seeing their passion and inspiration makes me more excited about their work.

11. The Help and The Hunger Games are the only book-to-movie adaptations that are as good as their source material.

12. I’ve never listened to an audiobook. I just don’t know if they’re for me. What if the pace throws me off? What if I want to reread a passage I especially liked? Or what if my mind wanders and I miss scenes and need to go back?

13. I totally judge books by their covers, and most of the time, I get it right.

So tell me, what are your bookish quirks? Do you relate to any of mine?

 

7 thoughts on “13 Bookish Quirks About Me

  1. Yay for #1 and #4! I do the exact same things. Glad I’m not the only one! Your bookcase is just gorgeous – your complicated comment made me laugh. TRUTH to The Help and Hunger Games movies!

    Loved reading this TTT so much, Cassie!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can totally relate to #2, #4, #8, #10 and #13. In regard to #2, Not in the Heart by Chris Fabry is my favorite book title to book connection. I teared up when the meaning of the title became clear. A quirk to add…it’s tough to lend a book to someone when your not sure they’ll take good care of it. My daughter and I twin on book maintenance so I never hesitate to let her borrow a book. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Staci, I’ve not read Chris Fabry’s novel, but you have me intrigued. I’m on my way to Goodreads right now to take a look at this 🙂

      I totally relate to your quirk! I actually wrote a whole post a while back on why I no longer lend books out. It just never ends well for me!

      Like

  3. Loved this list! Especially #7! I’m not a fan of hardback editions of books either. Paperbacks all the way! They’re much easier to hold while I’m reading and I don’t have to worry about the extra weight. Though I often receive hardback copies of my favorite books from friends and family – those I will keep out of sentimental value, heheh.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m always using random scraps for bookmarks too. I don’t own very many actual bookmarks, and I always misplace the ones I do have! Also, I too can spend ages in a bookstore and leave empty-handed. It makes me sad, but I don’t want to buy something just for the sake of buying something either!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments Make Me Smile

