Review: The Lady and The Lionheart by Joanne Bischof

This novel is beautiful beyond words. I not sure if I can really write anything to describe what my reading experience was like with The Lady and The Lionheart. But you should definitely read it.

The Lady and The Lionheart by Joanne Bischof
Mason Jar Books, 2016

Experiencing the circus is a myriad of sights and sounds and smells bombarding your senses. The atmosphere is alive with excitement and color. Joanne captured this perfectly on the page, and I really felt like I was standing amidst the chaotic magnificence of the circus. This is one of the few reading experiences I can think of that the scenes were written so vividly, I felt I was there.

Within the circus is where the majority of the story takes place. And where the setting comes alive, the characters do more so. Charlie Lionheart and Ella Beckley are two characters made up of so much depth and heart. They have entirely different backgrounds and upbringings, yet they find each other. A lion tamer and a nurse. They both carry hurts from their pasts and pain that is hard to grapple with. Both of them find it difficult to hope for a future with anything but what they already have. They hesitate to want more, to reach for something different for their lives.

My heart ached while reading this novel. I was so invested in these characters and their lives. I wanted to see a happy ending, but I had no idea how it would be found for them. During the work week, I couldn’t wait for my lunch break so I could read a few more chapters.

It is lovely and breathtaking and a story that I have not been able to stop thinking about since I finished reading it days ago. It is a powerful story about love and sacrifice.

Heartrending and beautiful, please don’t pass this one up. I never felt like I could figure out where this story was going, so every time the plot was given a new layer to grapple with, my heart would hurt a little more. Wanting to find resolution and not knowing how or if it would come for these beloved characters. Wanting happiness to be a reality for them after the darkness they had both experienced in the past.

And I definitely cried. Chapter 32 broke my heart so completely. And a book that makes me cry is a rare gem.

*I received an e-copy of this book from the author and was under no obligation to write a review. This is my honest opinion and all thoughts are my own.*

5 thoughts on “Review: The Lady and The Lionheart by Joanne Bischof

Comments Make Me Smile

