Review: From This Moment by Elizabeth Camden

I started reading this book on a plane to Boston (vacation!), which also happens to be where this book is set. Boston 1897 to be exact.

From This Moment by Elizabeth Camden
Bethany House, 2016

So to say this book came alive to me would be accurate. This book takes place during the building of the subway system in Boston, which was a fascinating backdrop to this story. What I found most exciting was being in the city this book revolved around. I had been to the places and seen the streets and ridden in the subway this book talked about. How fascinating to really see the city in two different ways at once!

Romulus has this flamboyant and bigger than life personality. Hidden under that is an insecure man who doesn’t have a lot of meaningful relationships. I enjoyed his character, but I doubt we would get along in real life. Stella is a confident, take charge of your situation woman. She is strong and loves her family deeply, and with those convictions, she continues to push forward. I really liked her drive and how she fought for the answers she was looking for.

I always enjoy Elizabeth Camden’s writing style and the stories she creates, so I’m glad I picked this one up. The characters still couldn’t top Bane and Lydia from Against The Tide, but really, they are one of my favorite fictional couples!

And because I was visiting recently, I’ll leave you with this gorgeous picture of the Boston Public Library. (Don’t you wish this was your local library? I would be there all. The. TIME.)

bostonlibrarypic

3 thoughts on “Review: From This Moment by Elizabeth Camden

  1. I agree with you, nothing will ever top the characters of Lydia and Bane. I don’t normally reread fiction, but I would reread Against the Tide, the novel is one of my favorites of Elizabeth Camden’s.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so far behind on my Elizabeth Camden books, and reading this review is making me all too aware of this. That said, I’m so glad you liked this one (great review) and how fun you were reading it at the same time as your trip. That’s cool.

    PS: Lydia and Bane are still my favorites too! 🙂

    Like

    1. Well, they will be there for you when you’re ready to read them! 🙂

      My reading experience was definitely enhanced by being in the city, I kinda loved that!

      #Lydia&Bane4ever

      Like

Comments Make Me Smile

