Review: Sea Rose Lane by Irene Hannon

Sea Rose Lane by Irene Hannon
Hope Harbor, Book 2
Revell, 2016

Whenever I have an anecdote about how I discovered a book or what made me want to read it, I love to share it with you. It’s fun and I think it gives insight to why my response to said book is what it is in my review.

With that said, what caught my eye with Sea Rose Lane was the book blurb. It completely reminded me of a Hallmark channel movie, which are some of my favorite things during the holidays. After being laid off from his job as a lawyer, a man comes back to his childhood home only to discover a contractor is renovating his house into a bed and breakfast. A little conflict, a little romance, and bam! Sounds like Hallmark to me! I was on board with that information.

Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy the book as much as the blurb had intrigued me. As you all know, I am admittedly not a huge fan of contemporary novels, although I have made huge strides recently (authors such as Melissa Tagg and Becky Wade are contemporary favorites). So take my review with that grain of salt.

I was not able to connect with the characters. I was not feeling engaged in the story, and I found the plot a bit wanting as far as things happening. Even the relationship between BJ and Eric was something I didn’t feel invested in, and normally these things are what most engage me in a story.

All in all, this one wasn’t a favorite for me. However, readers of contemporary fiction will enjoy this novel. Fans of Irene Hannon should definitely pick this one up, as they will not be disappointed. If you like small town stories and a few quirky supporting characters, I think this one is for you.

*I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.*

Comments Make Me Smile

