Review: Her One and Only by Becky Wade + Who Said It? Quiz

When I sat down to write this review, I looked in the notes section of my phone (where I normally will jot down thoughts I have as I’m reading), and realized that I hadn’t written any. While this does make my review-writing job a bit harder, this is a sure sign that I was so invested in this book, I forgot to pause for notes!

Her One and Only by Becky Wade
Porter Family, Book 4
Bethany House, 2016

Becky Wade can take a fictional family of characters and turn them into the most lovable group of people who almost feel like they could be real. Readers will welcome this final installment of the Porter Family into their homes and hearts.

Gray Fowler is a football player in the NFL who has been receiving increasingly alarming death threats. Because of the danger the stalker poses, Gray’s team hires bodyguards to protect him. Or, as they are really called, executive protection agents. Dru Porter is assigned to protect Gray, and their stubborn natures immediately butt heads in the most amusing way. Dru is a fierce woman to behold, and she embodies strength and determination. She is wholly committed to doing her job well and saving lives.

Dru and Gray are two characters that I really enjoyed reading about and getting to know in this novel. They jump off the page with personality, and their relationship is equal parts entertaining and engaging at every stage from beginning to end. I enjoyed their verbal sparring, their emotional moments, and their mutual respect for one another, especially as they learn more about one another’s lives.

Can we talk about the Porter family for a moment? I just adore this family. There are so many characters to keep track of, but they are each such unique individuals, it’s not as hard as one might think. I mean, we all know the difference between Ty’s flirty personality, Bo’s protective nature, and Jake’s caution and skepticism towards all. Add in Dru’s tough, ready-to-prove-herself attitude, and we’ve got quite the family. And that’s not even considering their spouses. They add a whole extra layer of wit and spark to the group. In the midst of this large cast of characters, none of them get lost. Readers know each character and how they all react to situations and interact with one another.  And at this point in the Porter family journey, it is a delight for readers to get this final glimpse into their family dynamics.

I can’t say enough good things about this book. Becky Wade’s writing continues to get better and better. With each book of hers I pick up, I fall more and more in love with her characters and their stories.

*I received a copy from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own. I also won a copy from the author in a giveaway!*

Don’t forget to check out the Who Said It? Quiz below. Answers will be whited-out so you can see how well you know the Porter family.

Quiz answers are here (highlight the blank text to see the correct answers, but only after you take the quiz!): [1. Ty 2. Jake 3. Dru 4. Gray 5. Lyndie 6. Celia 7. Meg 8. Bo]. How did you do on the quiz? Share below and let’s chat!

5 thoughts on “Review: Her One and Only by Becky Wade + Who Said It? Quiz

Comments Make Me Smile

