Review: The Goodbye Bride by Denise Hunter

The first time I read the synopsis of this book, I was instantly intrigued. I knew I wanted to read this story and find out what happened to these characters. Imagine my surprise when it showed up in my mailbox (thank you Thomas Nelson)! I’m also loving this cover. It’s just so pretty and romantic and girly.

The Goodbye Bride by Denise Hunter
Summer Harbor, Book 2
Thomas Nelson, 2016

Lucy Lovett wakes up in a bathroom and is completely confused as to where she is and why. So she calls her fiancé, Zac Callahan. Only, he’s not her fiancé anymore. When she hit her head, she got amnesia and can’t remember the last seven months of her life. And with that tangle of a mess, the story begins.

I really loved the premise of this book and couldn’t wait to find out how Lucy would move forward with her life and if she would ever remember what happened to her. The set up was perfect, filled with emotion and confusion and tension. And Zac’s reaction to the whole situation was so complicated and felt true to his character.

Once the story was in its groove and things had somewhat settled, I do admit finding myself getting a bit antsy. I wanted to see things happen, and it took a little longer for the characters to figure things out and put life back into some semblance of normal.

But it did manage to pick up again, and I have to say the chemistry between Lucy and Zac is off the charts. I loved seeing them on the page together, whether it was filled with tension, emotional distance, or even the fleeting romantic moment.

I really enjoyed the flashbacks that were sprinkled into the story when they were happy and getting ready for their wedding. I liked seeing what their relationship was like before Lucy unexpectedly left Zac without an explanation. Nostalgic romantic bliss.

I’ve read a couple books by Denise Hunter, and I have to say this is probably my favorite one.

And I’m a sucker for stories about war heroes (ever since I read A Love Like Ours by Becky Wade), so now I’m interested in Denise’s next book, Just a Kiss, which will follow Riley Callahan, who is in the Marines.

With thanks to TNZ Fiction Guild for a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for my honest review.

One thought on “Review: The Goodbye Bride by Denise Hunter

Comments Make Me Smile

