Review: Change of Heart by Courtney Walsh

Can I just start by saying how much I loved this book? This one is emotional and really had me feeling like I was able to step into the characters’ shoes. This is real life, people!

Change of Heart by Courtney Walsh
Paper Hearts, Book 2
Tyndale, 2016

In Change of Heart, Courtney Walsh tackles the difficult subject matter of divorce, betrayal, and the sense of being lost with a sensitivity and grace that was entirely refreshing and believable. It was painful to read and it hurt my heart to watch Evelyn and Trevor struggle through their world-shifting circumstances. But, it was SO GOOD!!

This book was all about discovering that your world is a façade that has shattered and then trying to figure out which parts were real. It was about the struggle of having to start over, and maybe not know who you are anymore because you lost yourself somewhere along the way. It was about picking up the pieces of that broken life and having to make the decision to get up every day and try putting it back together.

And it is a story about the ability to heal and forgive. It is about love. It is about accepting what God has given you, good and bad. It is about hope.

I pretty much enjoyed every aspect of this story, but there are a couple things I want to highlight about Evelyn and Trevor’s characters. Evelyn has this passion for art and creating beauty, and I loved seeing that passion cultivated within her again. And Trevor just has a heart of gold. I loved his generosity and his self-sacrificing kindness towards the girl he has always loved.

I don’t think I can say much more about this book. It’s not a light, happy book, so if that’s what you’re looking for, this isn’t quite it. But it is a deeply personal, heart wrenching, emotionally exhausting book. In the best way possible. And if you think you’re ready for that, please go pick it up. You’re going to love it.

*I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed are my own.*

3 thoughts on “Review: Change of Heart by Courtney Walsh

Comments Make Me Smile

