Best Books of 2015

best of 2015

It’s that time of year again, my friends. The year is coming to a close in just a few more hours, and 2016 is upon us. Which means only one thing to book bloggers: time to share our favorite reads of the year. I love seeing everyone’s posts about their favorite books, seeing what I have in common with my bookish friends and what I need to add to my TBR. And of course, I always have fun compiling my own list of favorites.

This year, 8 books made my “best of” list and I’ve ranked them [as much as possible, but there is some wiggle room], so read on to see what made the top of the top!

8. Whispers in the Reading Room by Shelley Gray

I just finished reading this one the other day, and I was completely surprised by how much it blew me away. It wasn’t something I expected to like, but it definitely surpassed my expectations! Look for my review in 2016.

Goodreads

7. After a Fashion by Jen Turano

Adorable, laugh-out-loud funny, and a complete delight. These characters jump off the page in their hilarity and have the heart to ground them, too!

Goodreads | Review

6. The Lost Heiress by Roseanna M. White

I really enjoyed Brook’s journey from not knowing who she was to finding her family and learning how she fit with them. Her emotional journey is set against a beautiful backdrop, and the supporting characters were enchanting.

Goodreads

5. Sabotaged by Dani Pettrey

I just adore the McKenna family, and this one might just be the best of the series [although I can’t quite choose between this one and Shattered]. When there is a high level of risk in the adventure and the relationship, it’s hard to not read the whole book in one sitting!

Goodreads | Review | Quiz

4. A Sparrow in Terezin by Kristy Cambron

This is only Kristy’s second book, and I’m already willing to read anything she writes. Her writing is lyrical and the characters tug on your heartstrings. Just a beautiful novel.

Goodreads | Review

3. A Love Like Ours by Becky Wade

Books like this one are the reason I’m starting to like contemporary fiction more and more. Lyndie is such a light in this book and I loved watching how her relationship with Jake helped heal him as he struggles with PTSD. This one got me good- loved every moment of it.

Goodreadsย 

2. Secrets She Kept by Cathy Gohlke

As this book unfolded, every page made me eager to learn more. Iย was completely immersed in two stories of a mother and daughter and their journeys. This is a book you can’t pass up.

Goodreads | Review

1. Price of Privilege by Jessica Dotta

Isaac. [If you’ve read this book, you understand.]

This is storytelling at its best.

Goodreads | Review

And that’s it! My top 8 of the year! What about you? Do you share any favorites with me?

Share your favorite books of 2015 down below or link me your “best of” post.
20 thoughts on “Best Books of 2015

    1. You’re welcome, Becky! I just adored your book and am so excited to read Her One and Only next year. I really appreciate your visit to my blog- Happy New Year to you as well!

      Like

  1. I’ve only read 2 of these (Shelley Gray’s and, of course, Price of Privilege)!! But several are on my TBR. Oh, for more time in the world!

    I have to say I liked Whispers in the Reading Room, but I wasn’t blown away by it. I expected a little deeper of a story once all was said and done, I think.

    And yes. Isaac ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. I think I liked WITRR so much because I didn’t have high expectations, and then couldn’t believe how much I was enjoying it! And I’ve not had a lot of great reads in 2015, but to each her own :).

      As Jamie said in her comment, #Isaac4Life ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Maybe that was it…. I had read a few enthusiastic reviews and had slightly higher expectations. Don’t get me wrong, it was still a good story. And certainly a unique approach with the hero of the story.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Dani’s and Becky’s are favorites of mine as well. They’re both wonderful in their own respective ways. I’ve heard great things about ‘Secrets She Kept’ as well, so I really should read that one. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for persisting in leaving a comment on my blog, Cassie. Apologies the comments give you such trouble, but I’m always glad to have you drop by when you can. Happy 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You might really enjoy Secrets She Kept, Rissi. I know you don’t read a ton of historical fiction, but this one is top notch, I say! Perhaps it will make it to the Inspys; then you’ll have to read it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Happy 2016!

      Like

  3. Oo, so many good-looking books!! Sabotaged and Price of Privilege are some of my faves of the year too. I’ve been meaning and meaning and meaning to read A Love Like Ours…oops I’ll get to it soon. Secrets She Kept has such a beautiful cover! And ISAAC. I really do understand haha. *high five* Great list, Cassie, and Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Bekah! I can’t believe you haven’t read A Love Like Ours yet! — your endorsement is on the back cover (I still remember seeing it and being so excited for you!).

      Yes, ISAAC. I really need to reread the whole series soon!

      Thanks for visiting! Happy New Year!

      Like

Comments Make Me Smile

