The Doctor’s Lady | July Discussion & Quiz #HedlundChallenge2015

Hedlund Logo

The 2015 Jody Hedlund Challenge is a monthly series featuring the novels of author Jody Hedlund, hosted by Cassie of Bookshelves and Windows and Jamie of Books and Beverages. We invite readers and bloggers to join us in reading and discussing these books together. Every month, we’ll announce the book about four weeks before the discussion post will go live (alternating between Cassie and Jamie’s blogs). The following month, after everyone has read the book, we will discuss and interact with each other about our thoughts on each book with special appearances throughout the year! If you’re on Facebook be sure to join our group!

It’s finally time for July’s discussion of The Doctor’s Lady! How did everyone enjoy it? I can not wait to hear what you all thought!

 

Here are your discussion questions (some are courtesy of the lovely Bethany House):
1.  Priscilla didn’t talk about her infertility because of her embarrassment and concern over what people would think about her. Once she shared with Mabel, however, she realized her fear and pride had kept her from experiencing Mabel’s encouragement and support. Has there been a time when you hesitated to share a personal problem due to fear or pride? When you finally opened up about the problem what happened?

 

2.  Priscilla’s cameo pin represented her old life, the life of a proper lady and the expectations that came with it during that time in history. During much of the trip, she clung to her cameo along with her beliefs of superiority to the natives. But by the end, she came to a point where she was able to give the cameo away and to see the natives with new eyes. Have you ever had to let go of a previous way of thinking or living and embrace a new path? Tell about your experience.

 

3.  At the beginning of the trip, Eli didn’t want to rely on anyone else for help. He wanted to be strong and prove he could make it West on his own. By the end, he came to realize that learning to rely on others wasn’t a sign of weakness. How well do you accept help when you need it? Is it easier for you to offer help or accept it?

 

4.  Who was your favorite character? Favorite scene? Why?

 

Curious to know which one of Jody’s leading ladies is most like you? As a fun bonus this month, I put together this fun little quiz  so you can find out: Which Hedlund Heroine Are You? Click the picture below to be taken to the quiz and make sure you come back and tell us who you got in the comments!!
whhay quizLet’s talk! And make sure to let me know which Hedlund Heroine you are in the comments!
24 thoughts on “The Doctor’s Lady | July Discussion & Quiz #HedlundChallenge2015

  1. Love the quiz! I got Annalisa from A Noble Groom! That is my favorite Jody Hedlund novel!! I’ll think about the questions for The Doctor’s Lady and chime in later with my thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I got Lily!! I laughed at this: “You have an independent streak and your fiery spirit…” because totally true 🙂 Thanks for putting it together – so awesome! I’ll chime in on the discussion later as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I wasn’t able to read this month’s book in time for the discussion, but I’ve already downloaded next month’s book in audio format, so hopefully I’ll be ready for that one. Gotta say, I enjoyed the quiz. Thanks, Cassie! I got Susanna Smith from Rebellious Heart. Thinking back, I think she’s my favorite of the heroines in Jody’s books that I’ve read so far. 🙂

    Like

    1. No worries, Karen. We look forward to you being a part of the discussion next time!

      So happy to hear you enjoyed the quiz! You got a good one! Susanna’s one of my favorites, too. I ended up getting Caroline myself, and while surprised, I guess she kinda fits me! (But since I made the quiz, I don’t know if I could really take it without thinking about which answer described which heroine 🙂 )

      Like

  4. I loved seeing Priscilla open up to Mabel. So often we carry our burdens because of any number of reasons like she did – but how freeing it is! That was one of my favorite developments.

    I also appreciated how their marriage developed. I think knowing it was based on a true story helped all the more 🙂

    Like

  5. My favorite thing of all was the afterward! I know this is a really odd thing to enjoy the most, but how delightful is it to read fiction and then learn so much of it was based on fact! Love that!

    Within the story, I liked when Priscilla stood up for the two Indian boys during their trip to New York. She did that when they were at the church and when her mom didn’t want to let them eat at the same table as everyone else.

    Favorite character …Mable. What a pure soul!!!

    Like

    1. I liked the afterward, too, Staci. Knowing how much of the story was based on real life made the story so much better. Thanks for coming back to share more thoughts on the book! 🙂

      Like

  6. Hi Everyone! I’ve enjoyed taking a look at all of the different heroines that you most resemble. So for those who resemble Emma, does that mean you make good coffee and/or burn your food? 😉

    One quick insider note about A Doctor’s Lady that you might not know: It’s the book that so far has required the most editing. In fact, after I turned the book in, my editor at Bethany House called me to “gently” drop the bombshell about exactly how much re-writing the book needed. Normally he just sends me a revision letter in an email, but because it needed such an over-haul, he actually called me! At the time I was devastated! But in hindsight, I can see now that the changes were entirely necessary! -)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Hi, Cassie! Wow, that quiz was so much fun. Thanks for putting it together and sharing! I got Emma Chambers from ‘Love Unexpected’, which I haven’t read yet but it’s on my TBR. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments Make Me Smile

