Review: Mist of Midnight by Sandra Byrd

After I read three raving book reviews from three trusted blogging friends, I could no longer ignore the mystery of this book.  And when it was compared to Jessica Dotta? You know I was sold.

Mist of Midnight by Sandra Byrd
Daughters of Hampshire, Book 1
Howard Books, 2015

Can you imagine returning home from a foreign country in which you served as a missionary with your parents who have recently passed away, only to discover that your very identity is questioned? That someone impersonated you, assumed your name, lived in your house, spent your money, and then died before your arrival?

Rebecca Ravenshaw experiences exactly that and is faced with the unexpected struggle to prove her identity so she can claim what is rightfully hers.

Who can I trust? What are their motives? Who am I truly safe with?

These are the questions I found myself asking as I walked in Rebecca’s shoes. The mystery surrounding her pretender lends an eerie feeling to this book, so the reader is constantly questioning everything. Everyone was suspicious, which made me read page after page, trying to figure out who was trustworthy.

The overall feeling of distrust and insecurity made this book an intriguing read. Which characters are true of heart and have honest intentions towards Rebecca? And who is the imposter in her home?

You’ll have to read the book to find out.

*Thank you to Sandra Byrd and the publisher for the complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.*

Comments Make Me Smile

