Business in the Books- Preorder Incentives (1)

Today I’m introducing a new feature that I am really excited about. As some of you may know from reading my About Me page, I have my degree in Business Administration. Therefore, my new feature is combining my business background and my love for books.

My degree in Business Administration has given me an eye for what works in marketing and my love for books gives me a reader’s perspective. Combining two things that are a big part of who I am, Business in the Books was developed to showcase the promotions for books that stand out as an effective marketing device to hook readers by adding value to their purchases while effectively making them valuable life-long customers. In this feature, I will highlight the promotions that I find most intriguing as a reader and innovative for the business side of books. *This feature is meant to highlight effective marketing tools. This does not mean I recommend these books, as it is possible I have not read them.*

In recent months, I have seen promotions with this basic setup: If you preorder this book, the publisher will also give you this extra something. I find this effective as a marketing tool because readers are more likely to preorder the book, which gives the publisher a projection on sales. It’s also advantageous to readers because they get more for their early purchase. Below are three examples of the “preorder incentives” marketing tool.

1. Thomas Nelson- Preorder and get another book free

Back in October, Thomas Nelson had a promotion to preorder Sarah E. Ladd’s novel, A Lady of Willowgrove Hall and receive an e-copy of The Butterfly and The Violin by Kristy Cambron free. All the reader had to do was send the publisher their confirmation email saying they had preordered, and BAM!, you got a copy of Kristy’s book.

Why is this a great promotion? Not only did Thomas Nelson get more preorders for Sarah E. Ladd’s book, but they gave the reader another Thomas Nelson book. That means readers will be more likely to get hooked on these authors and buy their future books. That’s what I call a win-win. Click the image above to see the promo on the author’s Facebook page. [Disclaimer: this promotion is now over.]

2. Zondervan- Preorder and win chance to meet the author

rhauck bitb

This one is pretty awesome, and as a reader, impossible to pass up. Zondervan has a promotion going on right now that’s super simple and a great opportunity to get readers excited about the book.

Rachel Hauck’s How to Catch a Prince is releasing at the end of this month. If you preorder the book between now and then, not only do you get bonus content, but you also are entered for the chance to win a Skype date with the author herself!

Tell me that isn’t an awesome promotion! Readers want to feel a personal connection to their favorite authors, and it doesn’t get more personal than this. Yes, not everyone will win the Skype date with Rachel, but the chance to win it will make it impossible not to preorder her book.

This promotion ends February 24, 2015. If you’d like to enter, click here.

3. Penguin- Preorder and get the book immediately

Normally when you preorder a book, you have to sit and wait for it to arrive at your doorstep on/after the release date. Which can be torture, am I right? Who wants to wait?

That’s what makes Penguin’s promotion for Jon Acuff’s Do Over crazy awesome. If you order the book right now, Jon will email you a temporary copy of his book [it disappears on April 7th, the release date, because you will receive your preordered copy].

No waiting. No agonizing over when the book will arrive. You get it right away, along with extra incentive’s Jon tells you about on his website. And when you’re talking about do overs, you always want them immediately, so this promotion is perfect. The people who want their do overs can start right away.

This promotion is awesome, just like Jon. It ends March 31, 2015. If you’d like more information, click here.

What are your thoughts on preordering books? Will you be preordering any of these books now?

Also, if you have an idea you’d like to see me highlight in this Business in the Books feature, please share it with me in a comment below or send me an email.
14 thoughts on “Business in the Books- Preorder Incentives (1)

  1. I preorder books like crazy – with or without incentive. I think my main “purpose” in doing so was because way back when, they were at the lowest prices. Now I don’t know that Amazon has that same pricing policy, but it was good enough to get me to hit that “pre order” button. 🙂

    Like

  2. Great series! I work in marketing and even though my industry isn’t in books (sad day), it’s helpful to study and learn from other marketing promotions and ideas!

    I’ll pre-order on movies I want (although I don’t buy many) since I’m guaranteed the cheapest price, like Rissi mentioned. I think these book promos are great – especially Jon’s. His is so out of the box and it goes along well with the message he’s writing about (and you bet I bought the book the day pre-order became available!).

    Like

    1. Thanks, Jamie! That’s awesome that you work in marketing– I don’t think I knew that. It must be a fun, challenging job!

      I knew you’d like Jon’s. 🙂 I agree, the promotion for his book totally fits his message (which is why it caught my eye- creative and intuitive)!

      Like

  3. I don’t usually pre-order books because I hate spending money and I usually try to wait and see if it will be at the library or if there is a sale on the book later. The only pre-order specials I’ve ever seen are Exclusive bonus content scenes and that annoys me because it’s usually about characters from a past book that I liked when this new book may not be something I want. All of these above specials sounds pretty amazing, though. If the book is reasonably priced, I would probably pre-order if I got it before release day!

    Like

    1. Thanks for your input, Stephanie. I know preordering isn’t for everyone, but I love seeing the new strategies publishers are putting together. I’m glad the promotions I highlighted might appeal to you!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I pre-order eBooks from Amazon, because they usually offer a deep discount. If the book is one my book club is reading in the future, I alert our members to pre-order as well. It only makes sense to get a book you want and a little extra, whether a discount or other books.

    Like

    1. It sounds like discounts on preordered books is the biggest deciding factor for alot of readers! I think that so great that your book club preorders books you plan to read– that’s such a great way to support your favorite authors!

      Like

  5. I usually (99% of the time) don’t pre-order. For me to even buy a book I’d have to get the chance to read it first and if, afterwards, I can imagine reading it again and again years from now, then it has to be part of my collection. Yay for your new series!

    Like

    1. Sounds like you’re a hard customer to win over, Ganise! As a reader, I totally understand you’re desire to buy only those books that impact you the most, but on a marketing side, yikes! 😉

      Like

  6. I’ve been wanting to preorder Jon’s book but ACK SHIPPING COSTS. That’s my number one gripe about preordering is THAT. Not all of us have Amazon Prime or are willing to pay a few more dollars than we have to for our book.

    Like

Comments Make Me Smile

