Top 4 Contemporary Fiction Authors

Dear readers, I’m sure by now you have all learned that I am a historical fiction girl. It is my go to genre within the sphere of Christian fiction. However, there are a few contemporary authors that I wish to share with you. It is not often that a contemporary fiction novel can win me over, so when one does, I take note of it. Here are my top four contemporary authors.

1. Katherine Reay

Do I need to explain this one? She is an amazing author. Her debut, Dear Mr. Knightley, was an unexpected surprise that I absolutely fell in love with. I remember requesting this book for review, and I felt like I had discovered this wonderful book/author myself. And you know what? She is loved around the blogosphere, and she deserves it. She writes contemporary with a blend of classic literature, so her books are witty and poignant. And if you need an amazing example in character development, read her books. Lizzy and Jane will be in stores on October 28, 2014.

2. Dani Pettrey

Dani actually writes contemporary suspense, but still. It’s contemporary, right? Anyway, I either got the ebook of Submerged for free or on a mega-sale, but that was the best discovery. I love when we get deals on ebooks like this one because I discover new authors like Dani. And now, I have all of her books. Her series on the McKenna family is filled with gripping suspense, but also well-developed characters that you relate to.

3. Rachel Hauck

Once Upon a Prince. Read it, people! I read this book when I had just graduated from college and I totally resonated with Susanna’s journey. It was just what I needed to read during that time in my life. A bit of whimsy and some soul-searching.

4. Melissa Tagg

I’ve only read Made to Last, but I highly recommend it. Great characters, a fun story, and a meaningful look at identity. Chick lit with a great message. Now I just need to get my hands on Here to Stay!

Who are your favorite authors of contemporary fiction?

18 thoughts on “Top 4 Contemporary Fiction Authors

    1. I’m so happy to see you here, Kristy! Thank you for visiting. It sounds like there are quite a few great contemporary authors out there, and I may need to check them out (as you know, I value your recommendations very much).

      P.S. I owe you an email, my friend!

      Like

  1. Thank you!!! Thank you!! I was just thinking about reading some other contemporary authors today! I really enjoyed reading Melissa Tagg’s book, “Made to Last” and Katherine Reay’s, “Dear Mr. Knightley”. I do love historical fiction and it’s hard to get away from it! I do want to “branch” out though. Again, thank you for this post because I was really looking for more contemporary fiction to read! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, I’m so glad I could help you, Virginia! I think you will love these authors, as I am also a historical fiction reader and these books caught my attention. And I’m so glad you like Melissa and Katherine’s books– they are amazing, right? Branching out is always difficult, but sometimes it can surprise you with an amazing book you wouldn’t have read otherwise! Happy reading, Virginia.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Jamie. I’ve read Lizzie and Jane, and, let me tell you, it is fantastic. You will love it and it is so worth the wait! (Also, I’ll let you in on a secret…Katherine is doing a giveaway of her two novels on her blog right now, so you should jump over there and enter πŸ™‚ http://www.katherinereay.com/tackle-your-tbr-give-away/ ). I have Silenced on my TBR and I can’t wait to read it and get ready for the final book in Dani’s series.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I’ve read The Tutor’s Daughter and The Dancing Master. I thought they were good, but not my favorite. Regency books are hit and miss for me, so it’s not my favorite time period all the time. But, I do have another of Julie’s on my TBR, and now that you’ve recommended one of her books, I’ll have to take a look! Thanks for coming by!

      Like

  2. Beautiful list, Cassie… yes, yes, yes, and yes on your picks. Katherine DOES deserve the recognition (no explanation necessary) as does every other author you spotlighted. Always enjoy Dani’s sense of family and adventure; Rachel’s beautiful fairytales (they’re darling); and Melissa’s fun sense of “classic” comedy. What fabulous taste you have. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Rissi. Can I just echo your comments on each of these authors? Because you are spot on about them and I completely agree with everything you said! So glad you stopped by!

      Like

  3. I’ve really enjoyed these authors as well! πŸ™‚
    Some of my other favorite contemporary Christian fiction authors are– Susan May Warren, Ronie Kendig, & Colleen Coble. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Hi Aerykah, I’m so glad you like the authors I spotlighted here. And thank you for the recommendations. I’ve been meaning to read a Ronie Kendig book, as I’ve only heard great things about her! I better get my hands on one of her novels!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments Make Me Smile

