Review: Let’s All Be Brave by Annie F. Downs

Let’s All Be Brave by Annie F. Downs
Zondervan, 2014

“Everything hinges on courage. Absolutely everything.” (175)

Two things:

  1. Nonfiction is not something I read very often. But I read the preview of the first two chapters of this one and was completely hooked.
  1. As a rule, I never underline or highlight my books; at least fiction. But when it comes to nonfiction, I can’t help myself. And this book, let me tell you, is full of underlining and highlights. It is so good.

“When God tells you to be brave, he will make it work. It won’t be perfect. It won’t be easy. But it will be your story and your best story.” (61)

This review easily could have been made up entirely of quotes from this book.

Annie has a voice that is filled with truth and wisdom. She writes to you as if you are sitting across the table from her, sharing her heart and letting us all into her life. And that vulnerability, that courage to share herself so completely, is beautiful. Add in a little humor, and this book is a hit!

“Say yes to the situations that stretch you and scare you and ask you to be a better you than you think you can be.” (105)

Let’s All Be Brave is filled with gems of truth that push you to pursue what God has placed on your heart. You already know what that is. Annie shows you that it is okay to take that leap of faith, to be brave, even if you can’t see how it all works. Life pursuing what God has for each of us is far better than the lives we would live on our own.

“He knows you. He knows we need dreams in pieces because we would be too scared of the whole puzzle.” (28)

This book is powerful. It will make you think about your life and how amazing it is when you pursue God with arms wide open, seeking direction from Him.

So, if you have a dream, if you have aspirations for your future, read this book. If you feel scared or anxious, if you hesitate at the sight of unanswered questions and the unknown, read this book. If you are in need of encouragement, read this book.

“God asked me to open my hands, and he gave me the world.” (56)

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

3 thoughts on “Review: Let’s All Be Brave by Annie F. Downs

  1. Similar to you, I don’t really read non-fiction often, but I make exceptions when the book sounds truly inspiring. Your review definitely makes me want to check this book out! It sounds *exactly* like what I need at the moment. Thanks so much for sharing, Cassie! Also, lovely quotes. 🙂

    Like

    1. I hope you do check it out, Bekah! I think once you get started, you will have a hard time putting this book down. I loved how honest this book was about bravery, but also had some quirkiness to it that made it fun to read. I’m so glad that you are interested in this one, now!

      Thanks so much for visiting!

      Like

Comments Make Me Smile

