Review: In Perfect Time

When I first learned that the third book in the Wings of the Nightingale series was about Lt. Kay Jobson, I was a bit nervous. Kay has been the mean girl in the previous two books, so I was nervous that I wouldn’t like her or connect with her character.

But, I was so wrong! I should have known better, too. If you aren’t aware, Sarah Sundin is one of my favorite authors, and she consistently writes powerful stories. When I pick up one of her novels, I know I can expect a solid story that will both fascinate and entertain while always maintaining historical accuracy.

In Perfect Time is, in a word, perfect.

In Perfect Time by Sarah Sundin
Wings of the Nightingale, Book 3
Revell, 2014

My Thoughts:
Kay is an emotionally wounded woman, whose family left scars that are hard to cover. The image she has chosen to let people see is how she stays in control, and she dares to embrace the person her family has condemned her to be. But underneath, what hurt is Kay hiding?

Lt. Roger Cooper is the one man who is not blinded by Kay’s flirtatious behavior and coy smiles. Instead, God prompts him to be a friend to Kay, to be a guiding light and encourage her. His past gives him the ability to see her differently, understand her struggle, and see her as someone God loves and doesn’t condemn.

I absolutely love the spiritual thread and the theme of redemption as Sarah portrayed it in In Perfect Time. These characters struggle with not being good enough. Not being worthy of the blessings God has for them. But that is exactly the point. We aren’t good enough. We don’t deserve the gifts God blesses us with. But God blesses us because He loves us. Because He is good.

This novel is definitely worth reading. One of my favorites of the year!

Rating: 5 stars

*I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. Thank you, Revell!*

Summary (from the publisher’s website):
Two hearts are about to learn the rhythm of love

Bold, sophisticated, and coy, Army Air Force flight nurse Lt. Kay Jobson collects hearts wherever she flies, leaving men pining in airfields all across Europe. So how can ruggedly handsome C-47 pilot Lt. Roger Cooper be all but immune to her considerable charms? In fact, he seems to do everything he can to avoid her.

Still, as they cross the skies between Italy and southern France, evacuating the wounded and delivering paratroopers and supplies, every beat of their hearts draws them closer. Can they overcome the fears and misunderstandings of the past in order to take hold of the future?

Sarah Sundin seamlessly weaves together emotion, action, and sweet romance into a tale that transcends time and calls us to believe in the power of love.

7 thoughts on “Review: In Perfect Time

    1. You’re welcome, Sarah! I absolutely loved it! I can’t decide which book in the series is my favorite, but it’s a tie between With Every Letter and In Perfect Time, : ) Thanks for visiting!

      Like

  1. “In Perfect Time is, in a word, perfect.” Yes. This right here sums up ‘In Perfect Time.’ It’s a delightful story and leads me to be excited for whatever Sarah has next. 🙂

    Like

    1. Wasn’t it wonderful? I am eager to read her next series. It sounds intriguing and a bit different. It’s about naval officers and there’s a bit of mystery in them, if I remember correctly.

      Like

Comments Make Me Smile

