Guest Post from Author Kristy Cambron and GIVEAWAY

Kristy Cambron, debut author of The Butterfly and the Violin, is on the blog today! I asked Kristy to write about what books we would find on her Ideal Bookshelf, and she has graciously agreed to share a glimpse of her shelves with us. Read to the end to enter the giveaway for a signed copy of her book.

Ideal Bookshelf_KCambron

My Ideal Bookshelf:  Kristy Cambron

When I think back on the books that have changed my life, there are a few that fly to the top of the list.

When I need to smile: I admit– sometimes I just love fun books. I can pick one up and it doesn’t have to possess an intricate plot or in-depth characterization. I may simply want to free my mind with a story that can give a temporary escape, and yes, just make me smile. The one book that I’ll read again and again for its sheer brilliance in making me grin every time I turn the pages, is THE SCARLET PIMPERNEL. It is the best of swashbuckling adventure, history, romance and bravery– in pen and ink. Read it. I dare you to frown.

When I need to think: I always turn to NIGHT, by Elie Wiesel. It’s haunting. Real yet terrifying. It’s still breathing life into our understanding of humanity, nearly sixty years after its first publication. This portrait of the Holocaust moved me so profoundly that I left changed from the first time I read it. Now, I pick it up again once a year and pray that I never forget what matters in life.

When I need to dream: I have an insatiable need to collect travel books. Yes, they provide extremely helpful research for a writer’s scene-setting. But more than that, I just want to dream. I long to plot out a trip on the maps, to follow the streets in a city I love (Ah… Je t’aime, Paris!), and think about all the things I’ll do when I get there. Café au lait, s’il vous plait!

When I need to fall in love: There’s nothing and no one better than Jane. True, Charlotte Brontë’s JANE EYRE is my favorite novel. But as a genre that started this reader’s love affair with clever dialogue, memorable characters, and an electric wit that cannot be toppled – Miss Austen is the gold standard. I love to fall in love, and her books carry you away in it time over glorious time.

When I need to learn: I own a rather large collection of history books. When I want to step back in time, I walk over to one of my bookcases and pick a treasure from the shelf. Whether it’s archaeology, art history, non-fiction or Christian historical fiction, I’m captivated by where we’ve been as a human race. Finding context in the past is like looking into the deeper parts of who we are.

When I need to believe: The Bible is always there. Its instruction for my life’s journey with Christ and the sheer beauty within the pages is matchless when anything else is stacked against it. My Dad’s Bible was given to me after he passed away; it stays on my home office desk for daily use. It’s the only book I couldn’t hope to live without.

GIVEAWAY!

Kristy is giving away one signed copy of The Butterfly and the Violin!

kristycambron2

HOW TO ENTER:

What book (or books) would be on your ideal bookshelf and why?

WANT EXTRA ENTRIES? (let me know in the comments)

-Follow Bookshelves and Windows

-Share this giveaway on social media

Thanks for entering! Contest is only open in the U.S. and ends July 29, 2014. Winner will be notified by email.

25 thoughts on “Guest Post from Author Kristy Cambron and GIVEAWAY

  1. I have read many books in my life ,and one I read as a little boy that move me was Where the Red Fern Grows ,and one I read last winter that truly touch my heart was one by up coming writer about raising her two daughters that are mentally Challenge,and how she dealt with it called With Angle wings by Stephanie Collens ,please enter me in your giveaway and I did share this on Twitter

    Like

  2. I am a FOLLOWER and I SHARED on FB.
    My go to books would be any of Lynn Austin’s novels that I haven’t read yet. She really inspires me!
    I always trade or sell or share my books so don’t keep unread ones around.
    Looking forward to winning and reading this book and its sequel.
    sharon

    Like

    1. I’ve heard so many good things about Lynn Austin. I keep telling myself to pick up one of her books! Thanks for entering the giveaway, Sharon. Good luck!

      Like

  3. I think my ideal bookshelf would contain too many books to list here! It would definitely be filled with Christian historical fiction from Gist, Alexander, Wick, Oke, Higgs, Klassen, Jennings, Pella, Peterson, Lang, Lessman…. I could go on and on! And contemporary too with Warren, Pettrey, Henderson, Wade…. I think I need my own library.

    Like

  4. Your novel would be a treasure along with a book Safe Passage by Ida Cook and Mr. Rosenblum Dreams in English. I follow and am an e-mail subscriber. and facebook.

    Like

  5. I love reading The Book of Mormon with The Bible- they are so inspiring hand-in-hand. My ‘Fall in Love’ book would be Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson- it’s a great one to re-read. Thanks for sharing the giveaway! I’m a follower on WordPress and I shared on Twitter!

    Like

  6. Ooo! I adore the film adaptations of ‘The Scarlet Pimpernel,’ though honestly, I am horrible at reading classics. I did manage to get through ONE Austen novel and have been attempting to read Northanger Abbey now for so many years, I should probably just give up and start over. That being said, I love books that make me smile and it’s kind of a big deal for me when I find a book that brings me to tears so when I do, those are usually special. Also, last year I found great new book love in Katherine Reay’s debut as well as too many others to name. 🙂

    Love what you say about books to make us smile, Kristy. Sometimes (actually most the time ;D), that’s all I want is for a book to be an escape, because life isn’t easy.

    Like

    1. LOVE Katherine Reay, I mean, who doesn’t? 🙂

      I will say Kristy’s book did bring me to tears (more than once), and you know I’m not an emotional reader, Rissi! So glad that you are entering the giveaway– good luck!

      Like

  7. I would have the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society on my ideal bookshelf! I would also have both of Gretchen Rubin’s Happiness Project books on my bookshelf.

    I follow your blog! Thanks for the giveaway! kosterbind (at) gmail (dot) com

    Like

  8. Wow…that is a tough question. I have several “always buy them no need to read the description” authors. To name a few: Francine Rivers, Julie Klassen, Tricia Goyer, Susan May Warren, Tamara Leigh, Tamera Alexander, oh my there are so many more. From all the wonderful things I have heard about this book, I am sure Kristy will soon be on that list. Thank you for this chance to win her book.

    Stephanie C.

    Like

    1. Hi Stephanie, I’m so glad you stopped by and entered the giveaway! I certainly have Kristy’s books on my auto-buy list now, so I hope she will be on yours after you get the chance to read her book!

      Like

  9. Oooo so many good suggestions. I hope I’m not too late to enter the contest. I just sampled it on Amazon and it’s amazing.

    On my ideal bookshelf? Jane Austen. The Brontes. Anything by Sarah Addison Allen, Jolina Petersheim, and Joshilyn Jackson. I need some more Christa Parrish.

    Thanks for the great interview and contest. *fingers crossed*

    Like

    1. It’s not too late, Juju! It IS so amazing, so good luck to you! I love all your picks; I haven’t read many of them, so I can’t wait to check them out. I hope you love Kristy’s book when you finally get the chance to read it 🙂

      Like

Comments Make Me Smile

