a simple bookish birthday wish

As my birthday is in the month of July, I did a little Twitter experiment. I asked my Twitter friends this question:

“My birthday is in a few days and I want YOUR favorite book! What is your favorite novel?”

I got quite an array of book recommendations from my Twitter friends, some I talk to all the time and others I wish I talked to more often. Are you interested in the answers I got?

The Ones I’ve Already Read that are Awesome:

photo

Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers
all of Jody Hedlund’s books
Les Miserables by Victor Hugo
Dear Mr. Knightley by Katherine Reay
Burning Sky by Lori Benton
Against the Tide by Elizabeth Camden
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
Silenced by Dani Pettrey
Courting Morrow Little by Laura Frantz
The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn by Lori Benton

The One I’m Most Excited to get my Hands on:

The Covered Deep by Brandy Vallance (I mean, read this synopsis):

Bianca Marshal is an incurably romantic bookworm who’s holding out for the perfect husband. She doesn’t want much, just that he be (1) a true believer in Jesus Christ (2) devastatingly handsome with a slightly wild look in his eyes (3) brilliant and humorous like Mark Twain (4) a foreigner, possibly a disgruntled duke (5) able to quote Bible verses AND Shakespeare (6) a more than capable kisser, and (7) adore her completely.

Finding a man that meets the requirements of “the list” in the foothills of the Appalachians has proven impossible. Bianca’s mama insists that there’s no such thing as a perfect true love, and that Bianca’s ideal man is pure fiction. On the eve of her twenty-fifth birthday, Bianca discovers a devastating statistic. Her chance of marrying is now only eighteen percent. But the “S” word—spinsterhood—is not something she’s willing to accept. She’s going to prove the statistics and her mama wrong. Bianca wins an essay contest that propels her into a whirlwind search for the perfect romantic hero. Via the opulence of London and the mysteries of the Holy Land, Bianca’s true love will be revealed, but not without a price that might be too heavy to pay. (Summary taken from Brandy Vallance’s website)

It releases on October 14, 2014.

The Ones I’m Most  Interested in (should I try them?):

The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery
The Outcast by Jolina Perersheim
Somebody Like You by Beth Vogt
Meant to be Mine by Becky Wade
To Know Her by Name by Lori Wick

Many Thanks to my Twitter friends! I had fun discovering new books and hearing your suggestions.

What book would you give your friend for their birthday?

19 thoughts on “a simple bookish birthday wish

  1. Happy Birthday! I love The Blue Castle by L.M. Montgomery- definitely a great one. One of my favorites from last year is Edenbrooke by Julianne Donaldson- I’ve re-read it several times!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Heidi! I am so intrigued by The Blue Castle. I’m going to have to break down and get a copy. I’ll have to look up Edenbrooke, as I haven’t heard of it. Thanks for the recommendation!

      Like

  2. Happy Birthday! I recommend: The Scavenger’s Daughters (Kay Bratt), Return To Me (Lynn Austin) & Hotel On the Corner of Bitter and Sweet (Jamie Ford). Sharon

    Like

    1. Thank you, Sharon! I’ve heard a lot of great things about Lynn Austin, so I’ll have to pick up one of her novels. Thanks for all the recommendations!

      Like

  3. Hey Cassie ~ Happy Birthday! Hope it was a special one. And if you’re excited about The Covered Deep, I’d say you are in for a major birthday gift! This is one of my top pick reads for 2014. It’s an absorbing book. ; )

    Like

  4. Happy birthday!!! I love that you shared your results from “the experiment” in a post. I see some of my favorites on both lists, too!

    Now I have to get my hands on a copy of The Covered Deep, too – it sounds amazing!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Courtney! I thought it would be something fun to share. I’m glad The Covered Deep caught your attention, too! I am absolutely intrigued by the synopsis.

      Like

  5. Happiest of birthdays, Cassie! You made me feel like it was MY birthday with your kind words about The Covered Deep! I hope the book meets and exceeds your expectations. May the story whisk you away to nineteenth century London and the Holy Land and leave your heart all aflutter! ❤

    Like

  6. Happy birthday, Cassie. Hope it is/was a great and special day full of fun. 🙂

    YES, yes, yes to Meant to Be Mine and Somebody Like You. If you like contemporary romance, those are jewels.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Rissi. Contemporary romance and me have a weird relationship– I want to like it but it’s hit and miss with me. I’ll keep my eye on these novels, though!

      Like

      1. I understand, that’s me and historical novels. (Which I know you love.) I have VERY specific likes for historical, so I chose with care. Nothing wrong with that, no matter the genre. 🙂

        Like

Comments Make Me Smile

