7 Signs You are a Book Pusher

Recently, I have realized that I am a book pusher. I’ve just finished reading some amazing books (i.e. Born of Persuasion, Mark of Distinction, The Butterfly and the Violin), and I talk about them at any possible moment that I can. So, here are 7 signs that you might be a book pusher too.

1. When someone tells you the book is on their TBR list, that isn’t good enough for you.

Why aren’t you reading it now? It’s SO good! What are you waiting for?

2. When someone brushes off your recommendation, you keep talking about it anyway. No is not an option.

I’m sorry, but did you hear me? It’s AMAZING. I don’t care if you don’t like to read!

3. When someone tells you they prefer [fill in the blank] genre, that isn’t a good excuse.  

That genre is all great and everything, but you will love this book. I guarantee it.

4. When someone tells you they’ve never read a book by the author, that is unacceptable and must be remedied at once.

Oh, you’ve never heard of this author. Then you obviously have no idea what you’re missing. Let me introduce you. You’re welcome. I’ll even buy you a copy. (Remember: never lend your books.)

5. When someone seems interested in the book you recommended, you follow up 2-3 weeks later to see if they purchased/read said book.

Yes, you have read my wonderful recommendation? Victory! Oh, you haven’t? Why not?

6. When you’re at the bookstore with a friend, you pick up your favorites and hand them to your friend. You say, “You should read these. They’re really good.”

Obviously if they came to the bookstore with you, they want your help picking out the good ones.

7. When you find out you have a few books in common with someone, you instantly recommend one of your latest favorites without being asked.

I’m assuming we’re best friends now and you are going to love what I love. Duh.

Are you a book pusher? Do these 7 signs resonate with you? What other signs are there that indicate we are book pushers?

9 thoughts on “7 Signs You are a Book Pusher

    1. Thanks Jamie. I thought this might be a fun departure from the reviews I post. So glad you identify with these signs, too. I’m not the only book pusher around the blogosphere! haha

      Like

  1. LOL, awesome post, Cassie. You know I don’t struggle with this overmuch because the only person who reads some of my books (aside from my mother) is my aunt and she’s VERY stuck in a particular type of book, and considering my personality isn’t really one to make someone read something they don’t like (just because I don’t like to force myself through a book), I tend to think long and hard before recommending something to someone specific. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks! 🙂 You’re not a book pusher! Good for you. I can’t help myself sometimes. I have a couple friends who are casual readers, but I’m always telling them about what I’m reading, haha.

      I understand what you mean, I don’t like to force myself through books either. I try only to recommend the best books, but of course, we all have different tastes in books. 😉

      Like

  2. Hi, my name is Courtney, and I’m a book pusher. Seriously though, I did #6 last Tuesday, with my sister. Can you believe she hasn’t read Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers??! At least now she has a copy of her own 🙂

    I love this post, Cassie! It was super fun to read. I’m glad I’m not the only book pusher around.

    Like

    1. What?! How has she not read Redeeming Love yet? I’ve heard that it’s finally being made into a movie, so she should read it before it comes out! Good for you for making her get a copy! 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting! You are not alone, my friend. I’m off to visit your blog– it’s been far too long since I’ve stopped by.

      Like

Comments Make Me Smile

