Review: Shattered

Shattered by Dani Pettrey
Alaskan Courage, Book 2
Bethany House, 2013

My Thoughts:
Remember when I said Reef had to come back into the picture sooner or later? And that he would be interesting to meet? Well, he has arrived! And with a bang, I might add!

We are introduced to Reef like this: covered in blood, and soon after he is arrested for murder. His sister, Piper, is determined to prove his innocence and will stop at absolutely nothing to do so. But lifelong family friend and deputy, Landon Grainger, is determined to find proof to base his investigation on, whether the killer be the brother of the woman he loves, or someone else… Evidence doesn’t lie.

Dani Pettrey is a gem of an author. I absolutely love her writing and will not hesitate to pick up any of her books. Her characters come alive and feel real and genuine. They are authentic characters that I am drawn to. I loved Piper and Landon’s relationship in Shattered. They have known each other their entire lives, but their relationship is changing. Together, they learn to be open with one another and find love; all while tracking down the real killer and exonerating Reef.

I got so caught up in this story that I didn’t take notes. And I always take notes! It was so good, I couldn’t put it down. I tried to slow my reading to make it last longer, but that didn’t really work. I finished it far too quickly and now I must get my hands on Stranded!

Suspense, romance, and an adventure that takes unexpected turns; what more could you want in a novel?

Summary (from the publisher’s website):
When her prodigal brother Reef’s return to Yancey, Alaska, is shattered by his arrest for murder, Piper McKenna is determined to protect him.

Deputy Landon Grainger loves the McKennas like family, but he’s also sworn to find the truth. And he knows those closest to you have the power to deceive you the most. With his sheriff pushing for a quick conviction, some unexpected leads complicate the investigation, and pursuing the truth puts Landon’s career in jeopardy.

When Piper launches her own investigation, Landon realizes he must protect her from herself–and whatever complications await as the two follow clues deep into Canada’s rugged backcountry. Not only does their long friendship seem to be turning into something more, but this dangerous case is becoming deadlier with each step.

8 thoughts on “Review: Shattered

  1. Dani IS indeed a gem of an author. Happy to have found her books and definitely consider her one of my all-time favorites. Thanks for sharing your review, Cassie, and I’m pleased you liked this book too. 🙂

    Like

Comments Make Me Smile

