Review: Until I Found You


Until I Found You by Victoria Bylin
Bethany House, 2014

My Thoughts:
As much as I wish I loved contemporary fiction as much as I love historical, I don’t.

In all truth, I wanted to read this book based on the cover alone, which is beautiful. However, the story within did not capture me the way the cover did, and I did not finish this book.

I liked the premise of the story, where Nick heroically rescues Kate from the edge of a cliff. They meet in one of the most precarious situations possible, both in survival mode, trying not to panic in the face of possible death.

But the things I didn’t like overshadowed this promising premise. There was too much telling going on, when I wanted to be shown what was happening. The characters’ backstories were revealed prematurely, leaving me without the anticipation of learning more about their pasts. And the flow of the story was slowed by the detailed history about condors.

Unfortunately, this story fell flat for me. It just wasn’t something that resonated with me. For readers who love contemporary novels, this may be something you enjoy.

*I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.*

Summary (from the publisher’s website):
Finding each other was only the beginning . . . 

When Kate Darby swerves off a mountain road to avoid hitting a California condor, she ends up trapped in her car, teetering on the edge of a cliff. Terrified, she breathes a prayer that changes her life.

It’s Nick Sheridan who comes to Kate’s rescue. Nick is handsome and confident, and he seems to develop a habit of rescuing her, but Kate is in town only until her grandmother recuperates from a stroke. She’s not planning to get involved with one of the locals.

Nick is a reformed veteran of life in the fast lane, a new Christian, and a travel writer. When he sees a car dangling on the edge of a cliff, the daredevil in him jumps into action. He doesn’t expect to be swept off his feet by the car’s occupant. He’s made a vow–no dating for a year–but keeping that vow is going to be a lot more difficult now that he’s met Kate Darby. . . . 

5 thoughts on “Review: Until I Found You

    1. Ugh. I feel bad, but I tried to use constructive criticism in my review, so hopefully it came across that way. I think that I need to stop trying books that are too far out of my bookish comfort zone. I know what I like, so I think I should stick to it!

      Did this book “click” for you?

      Like

      1. You did very well, Cassie. Believe me, I understand how hard it is to write a review of a book you didn’t care for. It’s difficult to find that balance between being kind and honestly stating an opinion.

        I hear you on sticking with your book comfort zone – that’s what I’ve found is best, plus then we don’t have the dilemma of writing a hard review. Or not as often. 😀

        You know, in the end, yes, I really enjoyed the book. It was unique and I liked that, plus the journey wound up being better than I anticipated.

        Like

        1. Thanks for the encouragement, Rissi. And I’m glad that this book was a win for you. As always, can’t wait to read your review!

          Like

Comments Make Me Smile

