Review: The Pelican Bride

Hello, my friends! Before I talk about the book for today, I wanted to briefly explain my absence for the past two weeks. It was completely unexpected, but my computer bit the dust and I was unable to write without my computer. Since then, I have finally purchased my new computer, on which I am currently writing, so let’s get back to business as usual! I missed you all, so it’s good to be back!

The Pelican Bride by Beth White
Gulf Coast Chronicles, Book 1
Revell, 2014

My Thoughts:
This novel is filled with history, political intrigue, and religious persecution. Genevieve Gaillain and her sister arrive in the new world in order to escape from their old lives. But life in the new world isn’t going to be easy.

Tristan Lanier is the first man Genevieve meets upon her arrival, and she is drawn to him despite his straightforward declaration that he is not in need of a wife. Although I loved their relationship, I was a bit disappointed by how it developed. It felt like a spur-of-the-moment “let’s get married” and then they parted ways for a large portion of the rest of the book.

Although I have my reservations about the main characters, there was one character that I was intrigued by whenever the story turned to her. For me, Nika made this book. Her struggle was the one I was interested in learning about. And what secrets she held! When she unexpectedly reunites with her ex-beau, her inner turmoil is palpable. But her choices don’t only affect her now, they affect her family. What will she choose to do?

*I was provided a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.*

Summary (from the publisher’s website):
She’s come to the New World to escape a perilous past. But has it followed her to these far shores?

It is 1704 when Frenchwoman Geneviève Gaillain and her sister board the frigate Pélican bound for the distant Louisiana colony. Both have promised to marry one of the rough men toiling in this strange new world in order to escape suffering in the old. Geneviève knows life won’t be easy, but at least here she can establish a home and family without fear of persecution for her outlawed religious beliefs.

When she falls in love with Tristan Lanier, an expatriate cartographer-turned-farmer whose checkered past is shrouded in mystery, Geneviève realizes that even in this land of liberty one is not guaranteed peace. Trouble is brewing outside the fort between the French colonists and the native people surrounding them. And an even more sinister enemy may lurk within. Could the secret Geneviève harbors mean the undoing of the colony itself?

One thought on “Review: The Pelican Bride

Comments Make Me Smile

