Review: The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn


The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn by Lori Benton
Waterbrook, 2014

My Thoughts:
Two words: NEW FAVORITE!!

I absolutely loved this book. Lori has a lyrical writing style that sweeps you into another time and place in history. Her characters are layered and complex. Her themes are woven throughout the book and tell a powerful message. And the plot and setting are riveting. The story is constantly moving forward, which made me eager to turn the pages.

Raised to be a proper lady, Tamsen Littlejohn is the example of gentility. However, her stepfather forces her to obey his wishes for her future. In an act of courage, she escapes from her cruel stepfather when an opportunity to flee presents itself.

That opportunity comes in the form of Jesse Bird, a white man who was raised by the Shawnee. Jesse Bird is a man of integrity. He keeps his word and protects Tamsen from the life she is running from. As Tamsen Littlejohn and Jesse Bird run from their pursuers, they are faced with challenges that they could not have anticipated.

Lori threads her stories with so many tidbits that can easily be lost along the way. However, she has the uncanny ability to bring her story full circle, tying up all the loose ends, and leaving her readers satisfied with a story well told.

Lori’s writing reminds me of Laura Frantz, which is awesome, as I love both these authors! So, if you are a lover of frontier fiction, or have read Laura Frantz before, or just want to meet a new author that is fabulous, pick up this novel! I promise you won’t regret it!

I am on Lori Benton’s influencer team and received a free copy of the book from the author in exchange for my honest review.

Summary (from the publisher’s website):
Frontier dangers cannot hold a candle to the risks one woman takes by falling in love
 
In an act of brave defiance, Tamsen Littlejohn escapes the life her harsh stepfather has forced upon her. Forsaking security and an arranged marriage, she enlists frontiersman Jesse Bird to guide her to the Watauga settlement in western North Carolina. But shedding her old life doesn’t come without cost. As the two cross a vast mountain wilderness, Tamsen faces hardships that test the limits of her faith and endurance.

Convinced that Tamsen has been kidnapped, wealthy suitor Ambrose Kincaid follows after her, in company with her equally determined stepfather. With trouble in pursuit, Tamsen and Jesse find themselves thrust into the conflict of a divided community of Overmountain settlers. The State of Franklin has been declared, but many remain loyal to North Carolina. With one life left behind and chaos on the horizon, Tamsen struggles to adapt to a life for which she was never prepared. But could this challenging frontier life be what her soul has longed for, what God has been leading her toward? As pursuit draws ever nearer, will her faith see her through the greatest danger of all—loving a man who has risked everything for her?

14 thoughts on “Review: The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn

  1. Ok, now I’m super excited to read this! A review copy is coming my way soon.

    I love Laura Frantz (and “Courting Morrow Little”)! This story sounds similar, plus I enjoy historicals. Have you read “Courting Morrow Little”, Cassie?

    Like

    1. Yes! I love Courting Morrow Little! It is my favorite from Laura Frantz, and Lori’s new book reminds me of her very much. They are similar, but Lori’s is, of course, able to stand on it’s own.

      Love love love this book and so happy that you’re excited to read it too, Courtney! Thanks for leaving a comment 🙂

      Like

  2. Can’t wait to read this! My copy has been pre-ordered for awhile. Glad to hear how good this novel is. I, too, agree that she reminds me of Laura Frantz, who is a wonderful author. Can’t wait for her next one either.

    Like

  3. I’ve read lovely things about this one but am unsure about reading it as it’s not set in an era that has grown to be a favorite. That being said, I love the cover and am glad Lori is becoming such a sensation in the market – I’ve no doubt her writing is gorgeous. 🙂

    Like

    1. I absolutely love Lori! Her books are quickly becoming some of my favorites, so it’s a bummer that you don’t like this era :/ I understand, though, I don’t like every era either. However, I think you should give this one a chance, it has a great pace and the story is so rich and sweeping.

      Burning Sky was nominated for the INSPYs, right? I’m assuming you had to read it, so I’d love to hear your thoughts on it when you have time to stop by again! 🙂

      Like

      1. Wonderful to hear, Cassie! Perhaps I will give this one a shot at some point. Thanks for the encouragement.

        Yes, Burning Sky was nominated – and from what I hear, it’s a great read. I’ve read a few pages but have it still in my pile yet to read. 😉

        Like

        1. Well, when you have time to read it, I love to discuss it– but I know you’re neck deep in INSPY reads, and other books, I’m sure. I’m glad you are considering reading this one 🙂

          Like

Comments Make Me Smile

