Monthly Recap: January 2014

bookblog002

Can you believe January has already come and gone? It’s been a busy month, so take a look at what’s happened around the blog!

Books I Read:

     

Book Reviews:
A Bride in the Bargain by Deeanne Gist
A Lasting Impression by Tamera Alexander
The Headmistress of Rosemere by Sarah E Ladd
Against the Tide by Elizabeth Camden
The Doctor’s Lady by Jody Hedlund

Discussion Posts:
The 1/2 Star Rating
Are Star Ratings Always Necessary?

Favorite posts from around the blogosphere:
Jamie started a new website, and it’s awesome! Go check it out! (and this, and this one, too)
Leah reviewed Burning Sky by Lori Benton
Lydia’s TBR list for 2014 is amazing!

How was your January?

10 thoughts on “Monthly Recap: January 2014

  1. I hope you’re planning to apply to be a shortlist judge for the Inspy’s! And isn’t Jamie’s new look awesome!?!

    How did you like The Dancing Master? the reviews I’ve read so far have been phenomenal!

    Like

    1. I am planning to apply to be an Inspy’s judge and I’m very excited about it! I’ve been seeing lots of tweets from some of the board members, and it looks like you’ve all been receiving lots of books lately!

      Yes, I love Jamie’s new website, so I had to share it with everyone!

      I enjoyed The Dancing Master. Not a favorite, but I did like the journey Alec went on throughout the book. I hope to get a review posted soon, I just need to find the time to write it!

      Like

    1. Of course, Jamie! I’m so glad I made your day. (It was so hard to choose which posts to link to, I love them all 🙂 )

      Oh, yes! I read Michael Hyatt’s book because I read your review of it! I definitely liked it- lots of little gold nuggets in there 🙂

      Like

  2. Hiya, Cassie. As usual, another fun recap post, girl.

    You read some really good reads this month – LOVED ‘No Safe Harbor.’ And it was a book I had a very different impression of prior to reading it. 🙂

    Jamie’s new site IS awesome. Love what she did with her space.

    …and echoing, Stacy – yay! We cannot wait for those applications to start and we’d love for you to join in. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Rissi!

      I actually had mixed feelings about No Safe Harbor. Something about it just didn’t grab me like I wished it had. But, I’m still interested to read another novel by Elizabeth Ludwig, and she has one coming out in March.

      Oh, yes, love sharing Jamie’s new site with everyone! It looks amazing.

      Thanks, I’m looking forward to participating (hopefully, fingers crossed 🙂 ). I’ve seen your tweets lately, and it looks like you have quite a few books arriving at your door! That must be exciting (and maybe a bit overwhelming 😉 )

      Glad you stopped by!

      Like

      1. I remember really enjoying ‘No Safe Harbor’ way back when, though if I were to re-read it today, who knows?! I may have a different opinion – I’ve read books like that. Sometimes I enjoy a book as a one-time read and nothing else. Hope you find Elizabeth’s next book more to your liking. 🙂

        Oh, yes! Overwhelming indeed… but in the best sense of the word. 😉

        Like

        1. Thanks, Rissi! If I get her next book for review, I will be sharing my thoughts here, of course. Maybe if you read it, too, we can compare notes!

          I can’t wait to find out which books make the shortlist!!

          Like

Comments Make Me Smile

