End of the Year Post 2013

With the end of the year comes reflection, and as a result of that reflection, change. So what changes can you expect to see around this blog?

Things I’m really excited about:

First, I want to start responding to comments more often. I haven’t been very good at this, but I want to interact more with you and get involved. This doesn’t necessarily mean responding to every comment, but I want to promote conversation. And not only here, but I want to be more active in commenting on other blogs that have interesting things to say.

On that same note, I want to write more discussion posts. This last year, I wrote a post on how we write reviews while balancing honesty with respect for the author. It has to be one of my favorite posts because I got a lot of responses from my readers with their opinions on the topic. So, I have a few ideas in the works and hope to write discussion topics more consistently.

I also have an exciting new goal for myself this year. I want to be an Inspys judge. The Inspys are an award given to faith-driven literature by book bloggers. It is really exciting, and I hope to be a part of it this year. To learn more about these awards, you can visit the website here.

So Long, Farewell:

Remember when I joined The Classics Club? I was really hopeful about this and I wanted to start reading more classic literature. But, it isn’t going well. It has been a disaster, really. I have tried a few classics, and I have failed miserably every time. And now it feels like a chore, and this blog is meant to be fun and something I want to do. So, even though I only joined last June (yikes, I lasted barely 6 months), I will no longer have this as a part of my blog. To see my original post on this, click here.

Help wanted:

I am interested in changing the design of my blog, but here’s the thing: I have no idea what I’m doing and I need help. Does anyone know how to make a good blog design/header? Any help and tips are welcome. I would like a design that is simple, classy, and sophisticated.

Also, social media. I have a Facebook page for this blog, but I’m wondering, what social media outlets do you want to see Bookshelves & Windows on? Where do I start? Twitter? Goodreads? Tips please!

Lastly, I’m thinking about having guest posts this year. I haven’t planned much beyond that initial thought, but I think it would be fun to possibly have other bloggers come share on my blog from time to time. Would any of you be interested in that?

Feedback is encouraged, so I would love to hear from you about anything in this post. Add your two cents!

7 thoughts on “End of the Year Post 2013

  1. It’s always fun what you learn in a year of blogging 🙂 You should definitely apply to be an INSPYs judge!

    I definitely think twitter is a great place to connect – there’s a few people who aren’t on Facebook, so I highly recommend! I’ve started getting more involved on Goodreads as well.

    I’ve been thinking about guest blogging/interviewing (kinda like 4 Questions for fellow bloggers) for my blog as well! I’d love to have you on the blog – so let me know if you’re interested! I plan on having something together to email this month for sure! I wouldn’t mind guest posting for you too 🙂

    Like

    1. Ok, I have Facebook and Goodreads started, but as far as Twitter goes, I have no idea what I’m doing or where to start. I will have to take a better look at it soon.

      I would love to be a part of your guest blogging, and thanks for thinking of including me! As far as guest posting here, I would love to invite you to share something. It may take a few months before I figure it out though, but we’ll stay in touch about it 🙂

      Like

      1. Twitter is fun, so looking forward to connecting! Let me know if you have any questions about it! Sounds good about guest posting! I’ll email you when I have a little something together! 🙂 Happy New Year!

        Like

  2. I’m really sorry the classics didn’t work out for you! I saw on your About Page that your favorite classic is Jane Eyre. You might like Villette (also by C. Bronte) and Gone With the Wind. Cheers! 🙂

    Like

Comments Make Me Smile

