Redeeming Love

Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers
WaterBrook Multnomah Books, 1997

*I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group through the Blogging for Books program in exchange for this review. This is my honest opinion of the book I received.*

I know I already read this book a few months ago, but when I saw it up for review, I just couldn’t pass up the chance to read it again!

‘Let anyone among you who is without sin, be the first to throw a stone at her.’ John 8:7

Thus starts a novel that will take you on one roller coaster you never expected and weren’t quite ready for.  This verse at the beginning of the book frames the novel.

With that said, we are then introduced to Angel, a character of many layers that are slowly revealed throughout the book. To say her life has been difficult is an understatement. She has grown up in prostitution and knows no other way in life. Just when you think you’ve gotten to the core of who Angel is and why she is that way, something new is revealed that breaks your heart a little more.

Because she has no control over her life, she has learned to control her emotions and how she feels about what happens to her. She is closed off and bitter about her life and the world that she has grown up in. She is in pain from what she has had to endure.

This book tackles difficult subject matter. We meet Angel as a bitter young woman, who goes through a long journey full of suffering and, eventually, joy as she learns to open her heart and let love in.

This book shows us how great God’s love is. His love is enduring. His love never fails, even in the midst of our bad decisions and running away. God accepts us with all our imperfections and shortcomings, and he loves us.

Rating: 4 stars

To read the prologue, click here.

7 thoughts on “Redeeming Love

  1. I’ve always loved this book, but it’s been a while since I read it. Maybe it’s time for a re-read. But my favorite from Rivers is the Mark of the Lion series. Have you read it? Thanks for the post!

    Like

    1. This is actually the only book I’ve read by Rivers. I’ve heard a lot of good things about the Mark of the Lion series, though. I even bought the first book in the series, but I just haven’t picked it up yet! I might have to move it to the top of my TBR list. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Comments Make Me Smile

