Review: Though My Heart is Torn

Though My Heart is Torn by Joanne Bischof
Multnomah Books, 2013

*I received this book for free from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group through the Blogging for Books program for this review.*

Summary:
Although they had a rocky start, Gideon and Lonnie are now happily married and are content living in the Blue Ridge mountains with their young son.  But, Gideon’s past comes back to haunt them when Cassie Allan claims that she is Gideon’s rightful wife.

Gideon’s past choices have consequences on his life in the present, and as he is forced to face his mistakes.  As he struggles to accept what life has given him because of his careless choices, not only is his life turned upside-down, but Cassie and Lonnie must also face lives they were not expecting to live.

My Thoughts:
Though My Heart is Torn is the second book in The Cadence of Grace series. Upon picking up this book to read, I did not realize that there was a whole other book about these characters before, so it took me a short time to get my bearings on the story and the characters.  I was a little lost, but this riveting story swept me off my feet, and I was quickly immersed and invested in the characters and their stories.

Gideon ends up with two wives, and the trouble begins there.  His past mistake caught up with him, and it not only hurt himself, but it also hurt Lonnie and Cassie.  As each character goes through this difficult trial, they experience emotional turmoil. It is heartbreaking to watch these characters suffer with complicated feelings and powerful emotions about what has happened to their lives.  The author writes their emotions with an honesty that is beautiful to read.

Each character goes through their own journey in this book. Gideon must learn to accept Cassie as his wife.  Cassie must learn how to be a wife to a man who is angry and loves another woman.  Lonnie must come to terms with the fact that her husband is no longer hers, and she must go on in life alone, and raise her son without his father.  These journeys are difficult and painful, as each character tries to cope with the situation.

But, how do you move forward with a life you didn’t ask for?  When life is turned upside-down, how do you come to a place where you understand what is happening and what that means for your future?  How do you accept what has happened?  These are the questions that are explored as Gideon, Lonnie, and Cassie go through the journey of this book.  They all must face the consequences of past choices.

One quote that stood out in particular came when Gideon and Lonnie were preparing to annul their marriage because Gideon had to be with his rightful wife, Cassie.  Even though Lonnie knew she would no longer be able to call Gideon her husband, she also knew that she could never un-love Gideon.  He was a part of her, and that would never change.  She knows that every day when she looks at her son, she will see Gideon.  In that scene, her love for her husband was described as this: “But the deep places of her heart were rooted and tangled- a love like that could never be undone” (118).  Amidst the pain and hurt, Lonnie’s love for Gideon was a love that would last forever.

Lonnie’s aunt, Sarah, was a character that I liked very much.  She was so loving and cared deeply about Lonnie.  She is someone that Lonnie had warm memories about.  Another character that I became fond of by the end of the book was Toby, the Scottish reverend.  I am very interested to see what happens to him in the next book.

Overall, a lovely book that explored the emotional ups and downs of the trials each character faced.  I can’t wait to see what happens in the third book, and now I must go back and read the first one!

P.S.  Be sure to read the author’s acknowledgements at the end of the book.  I especially love what she wrote to her husband and children. So sweet!

Rating: 4 stars

To learn more about this book, click here.
Want to read chapter 1? Click here.

3 thoughts on “Review: Though My Heart is Torn

  1. Thank you so much for your thoughtfully written review of Though My Heart is Torn. I’m so happy that you enjoyed it and it was a treat to get to see the story through your eyes. 🙂 warmest wishes!!

    Like

    1. No problem! I only wish I had read book one first. I need to pick it up soon. I’m glad you liked my review, it was my pleasure to read your book.

      Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

Comments Make Me Smile

