Review: The Fault in Our Stars

Before I begin this review, let me just say this: my summary is not that long because 1) I feel like everyone already knows the basic plot of this book, 2) I don’t want to give it away, and 3) I’m so busy with school right now that I don’t have as much time to devote to my blog as I would like.  With that said, let’s talk about this book!

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Dutton Books (Penguin Group Inc.), 2012

Summary:
Sixteen-year-old Hazel Grace Lancaster has terminal cancer.  When she meets Augustus Waters at Cancer Kid Support Group, her life takes a turn that she never expected.

My Thoughts:
I cannot adequately express how much I loved this book.  It is such a beautiful story that moves you to laughter in one moment and to tears in the next.

Hazel and Augustus have such a fun back-and-forth.  They are both honest characters who know how to laugh at their situation in life.  They are candid characters who don’t sugar coat the truth, which makes them such lovable characters.  I enjoyed their sarcastic, dry humor, their witty banter, and their realistic perspective on the future.

Amidst the humor, there is a sadness that looms over the book.  It is such a sweet book, but it has a realistic feel throughout.  It is such a tragic thing to be a young teenager and to know that your chances of living a full, long life aren’t looking so good.  You feel the pain that they feel, and it tears at your heart.

Thus, the book is equal parts funny and tragic.  Definitely a must-read.

This book is full of wonderful quotes that will stick with you long after you have turned the final page.  For example, Hazel is very guarded- she doesn’t want to let other people in.  This is not a selfish thing, either.  She is not protecting herself, but rather, she is protecting the people who want to know her.  The way she explains it is heartbreaking: “I’m a grenade and at some point I’m going to blow up and I would like to minimize the casualties, okay?” (99). I mean, how sad is that?

Other quotes that stuck with me:

“That’s the thing about pain. It demands to be felt” (63).

“You are so busy being you that you have no idea how utterly unprecedented you are” (123).

“I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once” (125).

“My thoughts are stars I can’t fathom into constellations” (311).

This is a poignant, beautifully-written book that tugs on all the emotions.  Although it breaks your heart, it leaves you with the sense that you have just read something important.

If I haven’t convinced you to read this book yet, then go watch John Green read the first two chapters of TFIOS.  Click here and here.  As he is the author, John Green breaths life into the book as he reads the first two chapters.  It should give you a good feel for the tone of the book and Hazel’s personality.

Rating: 5 stars

 

9 thoughts on “Review: The Fault in Our Stars

Comments Make Me Smile

