Review: Crossed

Crossed by Ally Condie
Dutton Books (Penguin Group), 2011

Because this is book two in the Matched Trilogy, I am not giving a summary.  It starts where the last book ended.

My Thoughts:

Sadly, I did not enjoy this book.  I really wanted to like it because the first book was interesting, but this one failed to pull me in.  It was boring and seemed pointless.  The characters are uninteresting.  Here is what I especially didn’t like:

First, the book is constantly switching the point of view from which the story is told.  The perspective literally changes every chapter between Ky and Cassia.  This was very confusing for me.  I would never know who was the narrator, and I couldn’t get used to it.  It was disorienting for me because I could never get comfortable with the POV.  It would have been easier to follow if the narrator took over for several chapters before switching, but this is not how the book was laid out.

Second, I just can’t get on board with the whole poem theme in these books.  I know they are the driving force of Cassia’s desire to break free of the Society, but I just find them cheesy and many times, I found myself skipping over the poems in the book.

Third, I want to share an overall thought I have on this series.  Technically, both Ky and Xander were “matches” for Cassia.  Therefore, whoever she chooses at the end of the series, will be only because the Society initially Matched them.  Thus, I would like to see her pick neither Ky nor Xander, but rather to meet someone new and choose him.  Only then, will the Society not have a hand in choosing her Match.  But, we all know that won’t happen; of course she will choose either Ky or Xander.

With all that said,  I do not plan to read the third and final book in this trilogy.  I may skim through it, but I doubt that you will see a review on my blog.  If you like dystopian novels and have read Matched, and are not swayed by my review, then I would recommend that you read it.  You might enjoy it; after all, we all have different opinions.

Rating: 1 star

This is book two in the Matched Trilogy Series.  Click here to read my review of book one, Matched.

Did you enjoy this book?  What did I miss?

Comments Make Me Smile

