Review: Matched

Matched by Ally Condie
Dutton Books (Penguin Group), 2010

Summary:
Cassia Reyes lives in the Society, where Officials decide everything for you.  She believes that the Officials know best and will give her the perfect life.  On the night of her Matching, she is matched with her best friend, Xander Carrow.  But, when a mistake occurs, and Ky Markham’s face appears on her screen for a moment, she begins to question everything.

My Thoughts:
I’ve seen this book around for awhile now, so I finally decided to pick it up and see what it’s all about.  There are similarities to The Hunger Games, which is what drew me to this book, so of course I am going to compare the two.  Whereas Katniss was a character who was strong from the beginning and always despised the Capitol, in Matched, Cassia initially thinks the Officials are good.  Her growth is subtle throughout the book, and at the end she has become strong and thinks for herself.

The Society determines what food you eat, what your job will be, who you will marry, and when you will die. Everything is decided for you.  Your life is not your own.  I find this to be very disturbing, but Cassia thinks that the Society is ideal and she is excited to be Matched with the person she will marry.

Her doubt about the Officials stems from her confusion on who her Match is, who she is meant to be with.  She is conflicted in whether she should be with Xander or Ky.  When she saw Ky’s face by accident, this is the first time in her life that she realizes that her life is not set in stone according to what the Society tells her.  The Officials make all the decisions, but what if she had choices and made her own decisions about her life?

This curiosity to understand what is really going on and be able to have control over her own life intensifies as the story progresses.  We watch Cassia evolve from someone who blindly trusts the Officials to someone who is aware of the lies and darkness of the Officials and chooses to challenge their power.

I found this book and the plot to be intriguing, and I am interested to see what will happen in the next book.  Although it is no Hunger Games, this is a good book.  This is the first book in the Matched Trilogy Series.

Rating: 3 stars

So, what are your thoughts on the Society?

Click here to read my review of Crossed, the second book in the series.

4 thoughts on “Review: Matched

    1. It took me about 2 days to read it, but I am a fast reader. Also, I was on a break from school, so I didn’t have any other things on my plate. 🙂 Yes, I am going to read the next book in the series. I would say I liked it, but I just read another YA dystopian (Divergent by Veronica Roth- which I plan on reviewing) and I think I preferred it over Matched. Hope this helps you make a decision on the book!

      Like

Comments Make Me Smile

