Review: Love’s Reckoning

Love’s Reckoning by Laura Frantz
Revell, 2012

Summary:
Love’s Reckoning begins in 1784 when Silas Ballantyne arrives in York County, Pennsylvania, to finish his apprenticeship with Liege Lee.  Silas is a strong, driven, God-fearing man who plans to go west after his apprenticeship.  Little does he know, Liege intends for Silas to marry one of his daughters: Elspeth, the cruel elder sister,or Eden, the gentle and loving sister.

My Thoughts:
This book had a slow pace, yet it was appropriate for the progression of the storyline.  Eden and Silas gradually get to know one another and come to care for each other. Neither of them intended for this to happen, for they each have their own plans for the future.  This changes things for the both of them.

I enjoyed watching Silas and Eden’s relationship develop and how their love for one another grew.  My favorite scene was of them dancing alone in the barn.  Silas was practicing his fiddle in preparation for the upcoming ball, and Eden showed him the dances.  Then, he stops playing his fiddle to dance with her, and whispers in her ear, “You need no music, Eden. You need only me- and I you” (128).
Isn’t that just lovely?

Now, brace yourselves.

In the last 140 pages or so, so many things happened.  I was completely surprised at the turn of events.  At one point I was even talking to the book, unable to hold in my shock.

In all honesty, these plot twists really upset me in the beginning.  I didn’t understand why the author was doing this to my beloved characters.  I had so many emotions! I was unhappy that the book took this turn.  BUT, with that said, I could not stop reading.  I had to know what was going to happen!  This is the sign of a good author- even though they may frustrate you, it makes you read faster because you have to know what happened.  Also, I realize that there has to be conflict in order for a book to move forward and be interesting.  That said, I think I can accept what happened because it advanced the plot.

As these events unfold, shocking secrets are revealed and new ones are kept hidden.  Will the secret left untold tear Silas and Eden apart forever?  How can they move forward after all that has happened?

Overall, I enjoyed this book, but I did feel there were a few things that either didn’t get resolved or are in need of further explanation.  I won’t go into detail, for I don’t want to give away too much.  However, this is the first book in the series, so I assume Ms. Frantz will be shedding light on things that are still shrouded in mystery.  I can’t wait to read the next installment of The Ballantyne Legacy!

Rating: 4 stars

This is book one in The Ballantyne Legacy.  The second book in the series, Love’s Awakening, will be released September 2013.

Will you be reading The Ballantyne Legacy series?

One thought on “Review: Love’s Reckoning

Comments Make Me Smile

