A Distant Melody by Sarah Sundin

A Distant Melody by Sarah Sundin
Revell, 2010

I am really excited because today I am sharing my first book review! What makes this even more special is that this book is currently my favorite.  When I first read this book a few months ago, I loved it.  I still do.  I feel like I can really connect with the characters in this book.  After reading it, I quickly went on to read the next two books in Sarah Sundin’s Wings of Glory series.  She is now one of my favorite authors!

Now, let’s talk about the book.

Summary:
A Distant Melody follows the journeys of Allie Miller and Walt Novak during World War II.  Allie is in an unhappy relationship, and Walt is tongue-tied around single women.  They meet at a mutual friend’s wedding and quickly become friends.  Allie and Walt share a love for music and God.  When they part ways, they promise to write, as Walt is flying planes in the war, and Allie goes home to a life she is not content with.

My thoughts:
I have so much to say, but again I must say I loved this book.  It was a wonderful story of two people who meet and quickly become important to one another.  Allie and Walt meet on a train and have a somewhat awkward conversation before realizing they are both headed to the same place.

During their conversation, Walt says, “I guess silence is a truthful solution to a dilemma” (21).
This later becomes a subtle theme throughout the novel.  Is silence really truthful? What if silence just perpetuates a lie?

After a week together, Walt and Allie correspond through letters and become close friends and confidants of one another.  As the story progresses, they lead separate lives, in which they each tell lies that cause problems for themselves and each other.  Will they be able to tell the truth?  Will they decide to work through the lies and forgive? Will they obey God?

The theme of obedience to God is central to the characters’ development.  Will they change their ways and do what God asks of them? When we meet Allie, she is not content with how things are in her life, but she is not doing much about it.  As the story progresses, Allie becomes stronger and takes action in her life.  Instead of letting things happen to her, she takes control of her life.  Walt’s character development was also exciting to watch.  After making a mistake, we watch as what he has done eats away at him.  He deals with guilt, punishment, and the need to accept forgiveness.  These characters are beautiful people who grow and mature by the end of the book.  I find myself wishing I knew Allie. I feel like she would be a wonderful friend.

Rating: 5 stars

This is book one in the Wings of Glory series.  Go check it out!

What do you think?  Are you going to read the book?

3 thoughts on “A Distant Melody by Sarah Sundin

Comments Make Me Smile

